Si-14B (Si-8B) detector wiring

Scintillation crystals, PMTs, voltage dividers etc...
wesley

Si-14B (Si-8B) detector wiring

Post by wesley » 06 Mar 2016, 07:04

Hello,

I am new to spectroscopy and I would like to connect Si-14B (Si-8B) with GS-1102-PRO.
Can you tell me what I will need? (Of course BNC connector)

Is photomultiplier needed or it is integrated in the sensor?

Thank you!

wesley

Re: Si-14B (Si-8B) detector wiring

Post by wesley » 06 Mar 2016, 07:14

I have found this:
147.png
147.png (26.69 KiB) Viewed 10489 times

Sesselmann

Post by Sesselmann » 06 Mar 2016, 15:52

Wesley,

If I am not mistaken that is a pancake detector from Sovtubes.

To connect that to the GS-1100A or GS-1100-PRO all you need is a cable with a BNC at the end, coaxial shielding to cathode and core to anode.

The components on your circuit diagram are already inside the GS.

Note: The Default load resistor in the GS is only 1M Ohm, this will work, but could shorten the life of your tube. If you already own a GS you can easily change the resistor, or if you are planning to buy one I can make it with a 5M or 10M resistor.

Steven

wesley

Post by wesley » 07 Mar 2016, 07:37

Thank you very much!

Do you think that adding additional resistor is possible at the detector side?

I have found that for the best operation of this detector 20MOhm is needed.
We have already placed order for GS-1102-PRO, but later we plan to use NaI scintillator.

Technically I am sure that we can replace resistor (even SMD) without any problem in the device, but I am worried about warranty.

geba

Post by geba » 09 Mar 2016, 03:04

Hallo, i have three of this pankake Tubes. I hope You have the data shield.When not, i ammend the translation from russian:
Here is the translation:
ECV 6343 II652 I COUNTER SI8B
LABEL
Counter Beta radiation SI8B (hereinafter counter) is used to register the soft beta-radiation in radiometric devices.
Climatic performance U3.I.
Solo 15170 Date of manufacture OKT 1990