Hey y'all

New members please introduce yourself here.
Stanford

Hey y'all

Post by Stanford » 22 Sep 2016, 03:24

Hi yawl

I'm a newbie just checking in to say hi. I have a GammaSpectacular detector set up and running but limited shielding so far. I see there's a lot of info about shielding online already (thank you all for that). How about dehydration? Do samples of food stuffs need to be dehydrated and if so to what extent and what procedures are recommended? Any thoughts greatly appreciated?

Actually, I bought the detector from Steven (thank you, Steven) two years ago and got slammed with other projects and have just cleared time to focus on learning this. My goal is to monitor food stuffs in the northwest US since we are downwind and downstream from Fukushima, have Hanford (the US military nuclear weapons facility) in the state, and Port Townsend is directly across a small bay from Indian Island naval weapons base and not far from a naval sub base. Just because I'm paranoid doesn't mean they aren't out to get us :-)

Thanks all
Stanford Siver

Steven Sesselmann

Re: Hey y'all

Post by Steven Sesselmann » 22 Sep 2016, 17:12

Stanford,

Welcome to the forum.

So you want to measure Cs-137 in food samples, well the amount you are hoping to detect will hopefully be very low, so your first task will be to build a good shield for your detector. Check out the shielding forum for ideas, and remember this is probably the most important thing you are going to do. It doesn't need to be pretty as long as it's pretty heavy.

Once you have reduced the background counts right down, it's time to put something in front of the detector, and since the space available in your shield may be limited maybe some dehydration is one way to concentrate the sample.

Hopefully in the end of it, you will be wishing for your food to be just that little but more contaminated, so you can get a decent spectrum.

Steven