Page 1 of 1

New Sound Card, PRA Not Working

Posted: 02 Sep 2017, 09:07
by Geoff
Hey all, I got a new sound card, an Asus Xonar DSX https://www.asus.com/us/Sound-Cards/Xonar_DSX/
The built in one on my PC had a max sample rate of 48kHz, and I wanted to upgrade. After installing the card and the drivers, I updated the settings in PRA and tried a pulse shape acquisition. No matter what settings I tried, PRA shows no pulses. When I listen to the input, you can here the usual static from the GS, but PRA isn't seeing it. I thought maybe it was a problem with the card, but Theremino works just fine.

Anyone have some advice for me?

Re: New Sound Card, PRA Not Working

Posted: 02 Sep 2017, 15:12
by Sesselmann
Geoff,

Strange, I haven't seen this problem before. Have you checked the audio settings on the PC side?

What sample rate are you running at?

If you are running 192 kHz, the 100 µs pulse might be a bit long, because 1 sec / 192000 Hz * 16 samples = 83 µs

In this case you might want to shorten the pulse a bit, but you need to solve the connection problem first.

Steven

Re: New Sound Card, PRA Not Working

Posted: 02 Sep 2017, 15:28
by Geoff
I read your post discussing sample rate previously. I have the sound card set at 24 bit, 96 kHz, and PRA audio input set to the same. I've tried left, right and both channels to no avail. I've also tried 16 bit, 48 kHz with no success. I went ahead and uninstalled and reinstalled PRA, but still no luck. The strange thing is that Theremino works.

Re: New Sound Card, PRA Not Working

Posted: 02 Sep 2017, 17:36
by Sesselmann
Geoff,

Sounds like something we need to elevate to Marek, what information can we provide on the hardware software side?

Steven

Re: New Sound Card, PRA Not Working

Posted: 03 Sep 2017, 05:20
by Geoff
Here are screenshots of all the relevant things I could think of. If there is anything else, let me know.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0BzNhg ... WR2WmdFaTA

Re: New Sound Card, PRA Not Working

Posted: 03 Sep 2017, 05:28
by Geoff
Oh wait. If this sound card has stereo input, do I need to make a new cable? I'm using the TS that came with the GS, and I tried the TRRS to TS cable that came with the Gammascout. Should I go ahead and put together a TRS
to TS cable?

Re: New Sound Card, PRA Not Working

Posted: 03 Sep 2017, 10:20
by Sesselmann
Geoff,

The Mono cable TS and the TRS should be compatible, both have left channel on the tip and ground on the base, but the TRRS is completely different, it has the mic input on the base and ground on the first ring.

Using the Mono cable, you should have the signal on the left channel.

Have you checked the cable?

Steven

Re: New Sound Card, PRA Not Working

Posted: 03 Sep 2017, 11:24
by Geoff
I went to the electronics store and bought a mono cable and TRS connector. Soldered it up and plugged it in. No change, Theremino works, PRA does not. Very odd.

Re: New Sound Card, PRA Not Working

Posted: 03 Sep 2017, 11:37
by Geoff
I just checked my signal with intune. My pulses are upside down! I changed height threshold to -1 and all is fine now. Thanks Steve!

Re: New Sound Card, PRA Not Working

Posted: 03 Sep 2017, 16:14
by Sesselmann
Simple :)